MBZUAI Library is housed in Masdar City's Knowledge Center and provides specialized collections, professional services, and hosts collaborative and focused study spaces to support academic success and research excellence in the interdisciplinary field of artificial intelligence.
Types of collections available
The focus of the collections is on scholarly and academic publications in the field of artificial intelligence and includes books, reference sources, academic journals, and conference materials:
- Print materials in the main collection are browsable and available for borrowing.
- Materials placed on course reserve are available for short-term borrowing, and as determined by course instructors.
- Electronic resources are available for reading online or downloading, and according to available licenses.
- An inter-library loan and document delivery service is available to support specific research needs.
How to borrow or access library resources
- Enrolled students, current faculty and staff may borrow materials from the library.
- Login credentials will be provided to access licensed electronic resources.
- All resources are discoverable through a single-search interface available on the library’s website.
- Electronic resources are normally available 24/7, on and off campus.
- The library maintains office hours and updates are posted in the library and on the library website.
- Patrons have access to a personal library account to renew books, place holds, check outstanding fines and fees, suggest new titles, and create booklists.
- The MBZUAI Library website includes the latest information on resources and services, and provides access to library patron accounts, research guides and licensed electronic resources.
Services available to support academic and research needs
Library staff are available to support students’ academic and research needs and provide the following services, as scheduled by instructors, or on request:
- Orientation of library collections and services
- Library resource and bibliographic referencing instruction
- Library research consultations, including conducting literature searches
- Research guides to supplement course materials and support library research skills
Facilities available in the Library
The Library provides an environment conducive to quiet study and managed collaborations, and includes the following facilities:
- Collaborative and quiet study spaces
- Group study spaces
- BYOD support
- Printing and scanning facilities
- eService requests available on the library's portal include title recommendations, interlibrary loan requests and research assistance requests.
Expectations in the use of library resources and facilities
Students are encouraged to avail themselves of library services, resources and facilities, actively and responsibly, and specifically:
- Students are responsible for returning all materials by the due date and time, and on request;
- Late returns may incur fines and replacement fees
- Login credentials should never be shared
- Copyright is always observed
- Silence in quiet study spaces is expected
- No food or drinks should be consumed in the library – with the exception of covered drinks (coffee, tea and water). Single-use plastic is strongly discouraged.
For more information or assistance be sure to contact the library team.
