Present your work
Explore our resources and learn to communicate your research ideas effectively, and to prepare and deliver a presentation successfully.
Ultimate Presentations by
Presentations: they may fill us with dread, but they're essential to getting ahead at work, and can be vital to landing your dream role to begin with. You don't have to be frozen with fear, or bored to death with a dull PowerPoint deck! In Ultimate Presentations, business presentation expert Jay Surti guides you through the most common obstructions to giving good presentations and how to overcome them, from nerves and uncomfortable body language, to voice tone and physical habits. Insightful guidance on coping with the unexpected, such as interruptions, technology breakdowns or difficult questions helps you to feel prepared and confident, no matter what happens during your presentation.Ultimate Presentations covers every aspect of fantastic and effective presentations: -how to prepare-how to structure a great presentation-using technology and visual aids-communicating a strong message-tailoring your presentation to your audience-highlighting your personal skills through your presentation-time management and dealing with Q and AsNow including a new chapter on presenting your personal brand, Ultimate Presentations will help you to deliver outstanding presentations when it counts. About the Ultimate series...The Ultimate series contains practical advice on essential job search skills to give you the best chance of getting the job you want. Taking you all the way from starting your job search to completing an interview, it includes guidance on CV or resume and cover letter writing, practice questions for passing aptitude, psychometric and IQ tests, and reliable advice for interviewing.
Presentation Secrets by
This unique book delivers tried and tested secrets and inside tips for making a sensational presentation. The author shares the three main components required to a presentation: storyline design, slide design, and delivery. Presentation Secrets lets you get to work immediately, fully prepared, armed with confidence, and ready to inspire. Teaches everything that goes into a successful and memorable presentation Helps create a storyline, from planning the beginning, middle, and end, to establishing key points, to making a presentation scalable Discusses how to design a slide template that meets your goals, ensure consistency, and find focal points Dissects the delivery of a presentation, including how to create "a character", integrate mistakes, listening to yourself, talking to the audience, and avoiding monotony Includes non-presentation metaphor to drive home your understanding of storytelling, improvisation, and delivery.
Give Great Presentations by 
Dazzle 'Em with Style by
Mastering the art of communicating scientific information is more critical than ever for a successful career in science and technology. Scientists today must be able to effectively convey sophisticated information to a broad audience that may include students, colleagues around the world, regulatory bodies, granting agencies, legislators, and the lay public. In this engaging and lively book, the author provides a step-by-step guide to the complete process of making a scientific presentation from preparation to delivery. It offers numerous examples highlighting what to follow and what to avoid. This revised edition covers the effective use of PowerPoint(tm) and other computer-based presentation programs. It also includes a handy checklist, new illustrations, and tips on handling an audience in a foreign country.
Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations by
Proven techniques to win over any audience and make any sale Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations is your expert guide to delivering memorable and effective speeches and presentations. Whether selling a product, offering a service, or bidding for a contract, your oral presentation skills can often determine success or failure. This invaluable resource delivers real-world advice and proven strategies to elevate your game and close the deal. Comprehensive coverage of preparation procedures, delivery techniques, and presentation strategies provide you with the tools and knowledge to motivate and persuade your audience. Emphasizing real-world versatility, this unique book delivers methods equally effective to both individual and team presentations. Drawing from decades of experience, authors John Parker Stewart and Don Fulop offer keen insight into the process of winning over an audience. From topics ranging from rhetorical devices and visual cues to body language and stage presence, this expert guide will help convey a take-home message that resonates and endures long after your presentation has concluded. A must-have resource for government contractors, sales and marketing professionals, and anyone seeking to raise the level of their oral presentation skills, this book will help you: Develop winning approaches to oral presentations regardless of experience or skill level Build the confidence to present your ideas to individuals, teams, and large audiences Incorporate your personal and professional lives into your communication strategies Create and deliver messages that will win the hearts and minds of any audience Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations: Winning Orals, Speeches, and Stand-Up Presentations is an indispensable tool for those who speak to influence, to promote, and to sell--aiding you in making positive and lasting impressions on potential customers, team members, and decision makers.
Taking Science to the People by
Taking Science to the People calls on scientists and engineers to polish their writing and speaking skills in order to communicate more clearly about their work to the public, policy makers, and reporters who cover science. The authors represent a range of experience and authority, including distinguished scientists who write well about science, federal officials who communicate to Congress about science, and science journalists who weigh in with their own expertise. In this long-overdue volume, scientists, engineers, and journalists will find both a convincing rationale for communicating well about science and many practical methods for doing so.
Why Trust Science? by
Why the social character of scientific knowledge makes it trustworthy Do doctors really know what they are talking about when they tell us vaccines are safe? Should we take climate experts at their word when they warn us about the perils of global warming? Why should we trust science when our own politicians don't? In this landmark book, Naomi Oreskes offers a bold and compelling defense of science, revealing why the social character of scientific knowledge is its greatest strength--and the greatest reason we can trust it. Tracing the history and philosophy of science from the late nineteenth century to today, Oreskes explains that, contrary to popular belief, there is no single scientific method. Rather, the trustworthiness of scientific claims derives from the social process by which they are rigorously vetted. This process is not perfect--nothing ever is when humans are involved--but she draws vital lessons from cases where scientists got it wrong. Oreskes shows how consensus is a crucial indicator of when a scientific matter has been settled, and when the knowledge produced is likely to be trustworthy. Based on the Tanner Lectures on Human Values at Princeton University, this timely and provocative book features critical responses by climate experts Ottmar Edenhofer and Martin Kowarsch, political scientist Jon Krosnick, philosopher of science Marc Lange, and science historian Susan Lindee, as well as a foreword by political theorist Stephen Macedo.
How to Talk to a Science Denier by
Can we change the minds of science deniers? Encounters with flat earthers, anti-vaxxers, coronavirus truthers, and others. "Climate change is a hoax--and so is coronavirus." "Vaccines are bad for you." These days, many of our fellow citizens reject scientific expertise and prefer ideology to facts. They are not merely uninformed--they are misinformed. They cite cherry-picked evidence, rely on fake experts, and believe conspiracy theories. How can we convince such people otherwise? How can we get them to change their minds and accept the facts when they don't believe in facts? In this book, Lee McIntyre shows that anyone can fight back against science deniers, and argues that it's important to do so. Science denial can kill. Drawing on his own experience--including a visit to a Flat Earth convention--as well as academic research, McIntyre outlines the common themes of science denialism, present in misinformation campaigns ranging from tobacco companies' denial in the 1950s that smoking causes lung cancer to today's anti-vaxxers. He describes attempts to use his persuasive powers as a philosopher to convert Flat Earthers; surprising discussions with coal miners; and conversations with a scientist friend about genetically modified organisms in food. McIntyre offers tools and techniques for communicating the truth and values of science, emphasizing that the most important way to reach science deniers is to talk to them calmly and respectfully--to put ourselves out there, and meet them face to face.
