Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

https://mbzuai.ac.ae/application/themes/mbzuai/dist/images/mbzuai_logo_white.png 

Literature searches: Research Tools

Subject Bibliography

dblp Computer Science Bibliography 

A curated collection of references, this bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. Originally created at the University of Trier in 1993, dblp is now operated and further developed by Schloss Dagstuhl

Provides access to high-quality bibliographic meta-data and links to the electronic editions of publications.

As of January 2019, dblp indexes over 4.4 million publications, published by more than 2.2 million authors. To this end, dblp indexes about than 40,000 journal volumes, more than 39,000 conference and workshop proceedings, and more than 80,000 monographs. 

 

Subject Index

COMPENDEX (Engineering Village)

Compendex is a comprehensive engineering literature database that indexes peer reviewed publications across 190 engineering disciplines. Part of Engineering Village and a core research tool for Engineering related disciplines.

Citation Databases

Citation databases index peer reviewed resources and include bibliographic details and abstracts. They provide links to the full text of an item. If you are unable to access the full text this means we do not have a subscription to that particular item. Let us know and we can raise a document delivery request for you.

In addition to searching for peer reviewed sources,

  • Set up alerts to be notified about new content on your subject, new articles by a particular author, or new citations to an article.
  • Customize the export features for the reference manager tool you prefer.
  • Find metrics (bibliometrics) at the publication, article, author, and institutional level.

SCOPUS

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of selected peer-reviewed literature, and indexes scientific journals, books, conference proceedings and patents. It provides an overview of research output in all disciplines. 

Web of Science

Search for scholarly literature using the Web of Science's collection of citation indexes:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded: 1996-present Rolling year
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index™: Science: 1996-present Rolling year & Social Science & Humanities: 1996-present Rolling year
  • KCI-Korean Journal Database: 1980-present
  • Russian Science Citation Index: 2005-present
  • SciELO Citation Index: 1997-present

Other important tools available through our WoS subscription include:

Academic Search Engines

Semantic Scholar

This is a free academic search engine from the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence

  • Perform literature searches
  • Provides cited-by information and ranks articles (highly influential papers)
  • Includes research impact metrics (including altmetrics)

Dimensions

Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system from Digital Science and includes some free services. Maps references to datasets as part of its free service as well as:

  • Perform literature searches
  • Includes research impact metrics (including altmetrics)
  • Provides cited-by information

Lens.org

Free linked research knowledge system from Cambia and the Queensland University of Technology

  • Perform literature searches
  • Map scholarly works to patents
  • Includes research impact metrics
  • Provides cited-by information

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is the largest citation database of academic and scholarly literature and indexes articles, books, and other scholarly content from publishers and repositories. It has a powerful search engine and can return very relevant results.

However

  • It does not limit searches to peer-reviewed resources
  • It does not index everything and content from publishers and repositories might not be discoverable through Google Scholar

Search tips

  • Use Advanced Scholar Search for author, publication and date range searching (link found in Scholar menu).

  • Scholar provides forward citation searching, displaying other works that are cited by a specific result. To find works that cite the item you are interested in, use the Web of Science  which does citation searching in both directions. 

  • Enable Library Links in the Scholar settings to identify full-text resources available through MBZUAI Library.

Additional Features