LibGuides: Facts, Figures &amp; Data: Sources of data

What data are you looking for?

Country profiles or country reports are brief guides that provide information or overviews on different countries throughout the world. Overviews can provide a brief survey of a country's geography, history, politics, economy, international relations, culture, travel, current affairs, media.

United Nations Country Profiles
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
European Union - Member Country Profiles
Official portal of the European Union
The World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Datasets available from government portals and organizations

CountryData (UNSD)
CountryData has been developed by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) thanks to a project funded by the United Kingdom’s Department for International Development (DFID). CountryData will initially disseminate data and metadata for the following 11 project participants in Asia and Africa: Burundi, Cambodia, Ghana, Laos, Liberia, Morocco, Rwanda, State of Palestine, Thailand, Uganda and Vietnam
Bayanat.ae (Data portal of UAE Government)
Official data portal of the UAE Government
Bayanat portal lists the data sets it includes as follows: economy, education, society, technology , transportation, environment, government, health and infrastructure.
Dubai Statistics Center
Statistical information and data for Dubai

ILO: International Labour Organization

International Labour Organization Flagship Reports
A U.N. agency, the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
ILOSTAT
The leading source of labour statistics

IMF - The International Monetary Fund

IMF World Economic Outlook
Reports from the The International Monetary Fund, or IMF. The IMF promotes international financial stability and monetary cooperation. It also facilitates international trade, promotes employment and sustainable economic growth, and helps to reduce global poverty. The IMF is governed by and accountable to its 190 member countries.
IMF Data
IMF Data - access to macroeconomics and financial data

OECD - Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

OECD Economic Outlook
The OECD Economic Outlook is the OECD’s twice-yearly analysis of the major global economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Prepared by the OECD Economics Department, the Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, government spending, prices and current balances based on a review of each member country and of the induced effect on each of them on international developments. Coverage is provided for all OECD member countries as well as for selected non-member countries. Each issue includes a general assessment, and a chapter summarising developments and providing projections for each individual country. An extensive statistical annex with a wide variety of variables is available on-line.
more...less...
Read online - HTML only

The United Nations

Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) Country Profiles
Review of the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and uses framework of indicators and statistical data to monitor progress, inform policy and ensure accountability of all stakeholders. The global indicator framework was adopted by the General Assembly on 6 July 2017 and is contained in the Resolution adopted by the General Assembly on Work of the Statistical Commission (2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development A/RES/71/313).
International Human Development Indicators (United Nations Development Program)
These UN created country reports include Human Development Index (HDI), Inequality-Adjusted Human Development Index, Gender Inequality Index (GII), and Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI). Information on trade and financial flows
Arab Human Development Reports
The AHDR covers the 22 member countries of the League of Arab States: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

United States Trade & Commerce

Country Commercial Guides
Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations and business customs prepared at US Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department and other US agencies' professionals.

The World Bank

The World Bank: Open Knowledge Repository
Reports on economic conditions of geographic regions and individual countries of the world. Select works from over 30,000 World Bank publications including the Global Economic Prospects report.
The World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data from the World Bank.
Business Enabling Environment (BEE)
The World Bank Group is working on a new approach to assessing the business and investment climates of economies worldwide. This compendium of indicators serves as an alternative to Doing Business until the launch of the new Business Enabling Environment (BEE) project.

World Economic Forum

World Economic Forum Reports
A selection of reports from the The World Economic Forum (WEF) - the Geneva-based international organization that works towards global cooperation on the major economic and social issues of the day. It is best known for its annual meeting in Davos, Switzerland, which brings together business and political leaders and thinkers for discussion of global issues and solutions.

EdStats: Education Statistics Database (World Bank)
Provides educational statistics and analysis on a worldwide level. Includes education indicators, attainment, equity, learning outcomes, policy data and World Bank education projects.
UIS.Stat (UNESCO)
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture, and communication.
PISA (OECD)
A series of reports on the OECD’s Programme for International Student Assessment’s (PISA) periodic testing program on student performance. The reports generally compare student (15 year olds) academic performance across countries, or discuss the methodology used to gather the data.
NCES Education Reports - USA
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary United States federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Center for Higher Education Data and Statistics (CHEDS) - UAE
CHEDS (Central Higher Education Data Store) provides a central data collection platform for the Ministry of Education, United Arab Emirates. All the universities accredited by CAA are required to submit data to CHEDS regularly.
Education at a Glance (OECD)
Education at a Glance is your go-to source on the state of education around the world. It gives access to the most recent data through interactive graphics and provides key messages on major issues effecting students, teachers, parents and policy makers. The indicators provide data on the structure, finances and performance of education systems across OECD countries and a number of partner economies.
more...less...
Read online - HTML

Times Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Times Higher Education (THE) provides analysis and insight on higher education and includes digital editions of the magazine and the World University Rankings.
For access to the MBZUAI institutional subscription, please register using your MBZUAI email and create a unique password.
The Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Daily and weekly news, commentary, career advice for academics, and resources for faculty and university administrators. Includes: The Almanac, The Trends Report and Advice section for student and faculty affairs. Access on campus and sign up for an account using your MBZUAI email for access off campus.

Global Health Data

IHME - Global Health Data Exchage (GHDx)
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation.
Comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. By topic or by country statistical profiles.
UNICEF - Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS)
UNICEF- sponsored health survey covering a variety of health indicators-- a large focus is on maternal, newborn, child, and adolescent health.
Since the mid-1990s, 118 countries have carried out one or more Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys, generating data on key indicators on the well-being of children and women, and helping shape policies for the improvement of their lives. Find MICS survey reports.
USAID - Demographic & Health Surveys
Provides reports and datasets on 87 underdeveloped nations that discuss topics such as: household and respondent characteristics, fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, nutrition, and HIV/AIDS. Also includes Country QuickStats.
United Nations Population Division
The Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs conducts demographic research, supports intergovernmental processes at the United Nations in the area of population and development, and assists countries in developing their capacity to produce and analyze population data and information.
WHO - Country Reports
Worldwide profiles of current health conditions. Website also includes World Health Reports, a yearly assessment of global health with statistics for each country.
WHO - Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
The GHO is the gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States.
World Bank Health Data
WBG Health Data covers health systems, Infectious disease prevention, non-communicable diseases and the causes of death, maternal and child mortality prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics. Data are from United Nations Population Division, World Health Organization, United Nations Children’s Fund, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, and various other sources.
World Bank - HealthStats Portal
Comprehensive database of health, nutrition and population statistics.
World Development Indicators
WDI Oline is the premier data source on the global economy. The database contains 1,400-time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, charted and mapped.

Country Health Data

NHS - National Health Services- Statistics
Official statistics from the government of the United Kingdom
U.S. Census Bureau International Database
US Census Bureau International Data Base (IDB) is a global demographic product created by the United States Census Bureau. The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
UAE Ministry of Health and Prevention
MOHAP is the ministry of the Government of United Arab Emirates- responsible for the implementation of health care policy. MOHAP provides various health reports and statistics.

Handbook of Healthcare in the Arab World by Ismail Laher (Editor) This handbook examines health and medical care in the Arab world from a systems biology approach. It features comprehensive coverage that includes details of key social, environmental, and cultural determinants. In addition, the contributors also investigate the developed infrastructure that manages and delivers health care and medical solutions throughout the region. More than 25 sections consider all aspects of health, from cancer to hormone replacement therapy, from the use of medications to vitamin deficiency in emergency medical care. Chapters highlight essential areas in the wellbeing and care of this population. These topics include women's health care, displaced and refugee women's health needs, childhood health, social and environmental causes of disease, health systems and health management, and a wide range of diseases of various body systems. This resource also explores issues related to access and barriers to health delivery throughout the region. Health in the Arab world is complex and rapidly changing. The health burden in the region is distributed unevenly based on gender, location, as well as other factors. In addition, crises such as armed conflicts and an expanding migrant population place additional stress on systems and providers at all levels. This timely resource will help readers better understand all these major issues and more. It will serve as an ideal guide for researchers in various biological disciplines, public health, and regulatory agencies.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: REF RA395.M628 L34 2021
ISBN: 9783030368104
Publication Date: 2021-08-11

World Economic Forum Reports on AI
The World Economic Forum (WEF) reports on AI and machine learning
AICan CIFAR Pan-Canadian AI Strategy Impact Report
An annual round-up of advances and impact from the CIFAR Pan-Canadian AI Strategy.
IBM Insights on Technology
the IBM Institute for Business Value (IBV) collaborates with industry professionals, leading-edge clients, academics, and a wide range of IBM consultants and subject matter experts around the world
Harvard Business School Digital Initiative
The HBR initiative is a set of articles that discuss the current digital landscape and how individuals and companies can adapt to it.
International Federation of Robotics
The International Federation of Robotics connects the world of robotics around the globe. We aim at promoting the positive benefits of robots for productivity, competitiveness, economic growth and quality of work and life.

The general purpose of the IFR is to promote research, development, use and international co-operation in the entire field of robotics, to act as a focal point for organizations and governmental representatives in activities related to robotics.
ITIF: Information Technology & Innovation Foundation
Founded in 2006, ITIF is a research and educational institute, a think tank. ITIF focuses on a host of critical issues at the intersection of technological innovation and public policy—including economic issues related to innovation, productivity, and competitiveness; technology issues in the areas of information technology and data, broadband telecommunications, advanced manufacturing, life sciences, agricultural biotechnology, and clean energy; and overarching policy tools related to public investment, regulation, taxes, and trade.
UAE AI Strategy Report 2018
The UAE sets a clear vision through its AI Strategy, to become the world leader in AI by 2031. Implementing this vision on the ground requires rigorous dedication and clear steps that outline the path for success.
UAE Strategy for Artificial Intelligence In October 2017, the UAE Government launched ‘UAE Strategy for Artificial Intelligence (AI)’. This marks the post-mobile government phase which will rely on various future services, sectors and infrastructure projects. The strategy is first of its kind in the region and the world and it aims to: achieve the objectives of UAE Centennial 2071 boost government performance at all levels use an integrated smart digital system that can overcome challenges and provide quick efficient solutions make the UAE the first in the field of AI investments in various sectors create new vital market with high economic value. Sectors The strategy will cover the following sectors: transport – to reduce accidents and cut operational costs health – to minimise chronic and dangerous diseases space – to help conduct accurate experiments, reduce rate of costly mistakes renewable energy – to manage facilities water – to conduct analysis and studies to provide water sources technology – to increase productivity and help with general spending education – to cut costs and enhance desire for education environment – to increase forestation rate traffic – to reduce accidents and traffic jams and draw more effective traffic policies.

Plunkett's Manufacturing, Automation & Robotics Industry Almanac 2022: Manufacturing, Automation & Robotics Industry Market Research, Statistics, Trends and Leading Companies by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781628319446
Publication Date: 2021
Formally Plunkett's Manufacturing & Robotics Industry Almanac, this book presents a complete analysis of the manufacturing business, including such related areas as research and development (R&D), engineering and design, outsourcing, offshoring, factory automation and supply chain. The almanac also features in-depth coverage of robotics. This market research tool includes our analysis of the major trends affecting the global manufacturing industry, from the developments in firms reshoring their manufacturing operations to the U.S., nearshoring to Mexico and Central America, rising wages in China, China's move to higher value manufacturing, and the movement of lower value manufacturing, such as apparel, to such nations as Pakistan and The Philippines. In addition, we provide major statistical tables covering the industry, from revenues to investment in R&D to employment to wages. No other source provides this book's easy-to-understand comparisons of growth, expenditures, technologies, imports/exports, corporations, research and other vital subjects. You'll find our analysis provides a complete overview of the industry along with market research reports in one superb, value-priced package."Plunkett Research has built a solid reputation providing industry analysis and research in a diverse spectrum of areas-energy and utilities, finance and investment, health care and biotechnology, and engineering and research to name a few."American Reference Books Annual