Encyclopedia of Education and Information Technologies by
This encyclopedia aims to offer researchers an indication of the breadth and importance of information systems in education, including the way IT is being used, and could be used to enable learning and teaching. The encyclopedia covers all aspects of the interaction between education and information technologies, including IT in kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, universities, training colleges, industry training, distance education and further education. It also covers teaching and computing, the use of IT in many different subject areas, the use of IT in educational administration, and national policies of IT and education.
Handbook of Open, Distance and Digital Education by
This open access handbook offers a one-stop-shop for both new and established researchers, educators, policy makers and administrators in the field of open, distance and digital education (ODE) to gain a comprehensive overview of the history, theory and practice at all levels of ODE, and at the same time stimulates in-depth discussions on various themes and issues of ODE for today and future. Researchers, scholars and students in the field of ODE can use this handbook as a major reference to conduct their own research and learning agendas.
To cover the field comprehensively, the handbook is structured following the 3M framework developed by one of the chief editors Zawacki-Richter. The 3M framework categorizes the major research areas and issues in ODE on three levels. Accordingly, the handbook is divided into six sections in total, two section at each of the three levels: 1) Macro Level – ODE Systems and Theories, 2) Meso Level - Institutional Perspectives, Management and Organization, and 3) Micro Level – Learning and Teaching in ODE.
This is an open access book.
E-Learning Methodologies by
E-learning has become an important part of our educational life with the development of e-learning systems and platforms and the need for online and remote learning. ICT and computational intelligence techniques are being used to design more intelligent and adaptive systems. However, the art of designing good real-time e-learning systems is difficult as different aspects of learning need to be considered including challenges such as learning rates, involvement, knowledge, qualifications, as well as networking and security issues. The earlier concepts of standalone integrated virtual e-learning systems have been greatly enhanced with emerging technologies such as cloud computing, mobile computing, big data, Internet of Things (IoT), AI and machine learning, and AR/VT technologies.
Essentials for Blended Learning, 2nd Edition by
Essentials for Blended Learning provides a practical, streamlined approach for creating effective learning experiences by blending online activities and the best of face-to-face teaching. Effective blended learning requires rethinking of teaching practices and a redesign of course structure. Suitable for instructors in any content area, this book simplifies these difficult challenges without neglecting important opportunities to transform teaching. The revised second edition is more streamlined and easier to use, and includes more real-world examples of blended teaching and learning, the latest technologies, and additional research-based learning activities.
Flipped Classrooms with Diverse Learners by
This book addresses the background of classroom flipping, explores the theoretical underpinnings for why flipping works, and shares current success stories in practice. It provides diverse international examples of classroom flipping for all ages, includes discussions of the authors' studies in the context of the existing research, and illustrates the impact that classroom flipping has had across a range of educational settings instead of focusing on a specific domain or learner context. Intended as a handbook for practitioners, the analysis of commonly used, highly effective techniques for learners of various ages fills a major gap in the literature. It offers a valuable resource for educators, helping them make the flipped learning experience an impactful and meaningful one.
Handbook of Research on Managing and Designing Online Courses in Synchronous and Asynchronous Environments by
In order to be successful, online learning should be planned systematically. It can be said that offering distance education courses without preparation and knowledge about the theoretical background can cause drawbacks. While distance education has become widespread and popular, it is observed that there could be problems in its application. Such problems can include technical problems, inability to meet the learning needs at the learners' own speeds, lack of communication among learners and between learners and teachers, and lack of quality materials appropriate for online learning or the inclusion of materials used in traditional methods directly into online learning. For successful online courses, these critical aspects of distance education are important, and they should be taken into account by the institutions and the instructors offering online courses. The Handbook of Research on Managing and Designing Online Courses in Synchronous and Asynchronous Environments provides up-to-date knowledge and experiences regarding technologies, processes, and environments for online course design in distance education systems and covers topics related to the aspects of successful distance education systems with a focus on teaching and learning in online environments. Focusing on topics such as instructional design and integrated systems, it is an ideal guide for online course designers, instructional designers, curricula developers, administrators, educators, researchers, trainers, and students.
Hybrid-Flexible Course Design Implementing Student-directed Hybrid Classes by 
Online Teaching at Its Best by
Bring pedagogy and cognitive science to online learning environments Online Teaching at Its Best: A Merger of Instructional Design with Teaching and Learning Research is the scholarly resource for online learning that faculty, instructional designers, and administrators have long been awaiting. Over 70 percent of degree-granting institutions offer online classes, and while technical resources abound, the courses often fall short of integrating the best practices in online pedagogy, even if they comply with online course design standards. Typically these standards omit the best practices in teaching and learning and the principles from cognitive science, leaving students struggling to keep the pace, understand the material, and fulfill their true potential as learners. This book fills the gap, providing evidence-based practices for online teaching, online course design, and online student motivation integrated with pedagogical and cognitive science to help you build the distance learning courses and programs your students deserve. As more and more students opt for distance learning, it's up to designers and instructors to rethink traditional methods and learn to work more effectively within the online learning environment, and up to administrators to provide the needed leadership. Online Teaching at Its Best provides practical, real-world advice grounded in educational science to help online instructors, instructional designers, and administrators deliver an exceptional learning experience. Adopt new pedagogical techniques designed specifically for online learning environments Ensure strong course alignment and effective student learning for online classes Increase student retention, build necessary support structures, and train faculty more effectively Integrate research-based course design and cognitive psychology into graduate or undergraduate programs Distance is no barrier to a great education; what do stand in the way are inadequate online course design and implementation and deficient faculty training and support--all of which administrators can mitigate. Online Teaching at Its Best will help you ensure that your online classes measure up to the rigor and quality of excellence in teaching and assessment, build in the personal touch for developing a learning community and equip your students to succeed in the next challenge.
Teaching Machines by
How ed tech was born: Twentieth-century teaching machines--from Sidney Pressey's mechanized test-giver to B. F. Skinner's behaviorist bell-ringing box. Contrary to popular belief, ed tech did not begin with videos on the internet. The idea of technology that would allow students to "go at their own pace" did not originate in Silicon Valley. In Teaching Machines, education writer Audrey Watters offers a lively history of predigital educational technology, from Sidney Pressey's mechanized positive-reinforcement provider to B. F. Skinner's behaviorist bell-ringing box. Watters shows that these machines and the pedagogy that accompanied them sprang from ideas--bite-sized content, individualized instruction--that had legs and were later picked up by textbook publishers and early advocates for computerized learning. Watters pays particular attention to the role of the media--newspapers, magazines, television, and film--in shaping people's perceptions of teaching machines as well as the psychological theories underpinning them. She considers these machines in the context of education reform, the political reverberations of Sputnik, and the rise of the testing and textbook industries. She chronicles Skinner's attempts to bring his teaching machines to market, culminating in the famous behaviorist's efforts to launch Didak 101, the "pre-verbal" machine that taught spelling. (Alternate names proposed by Skinner include "Autodidak," "Instructomat," and "Autostructor.") Telling these somewhat cautionary tales, Watters challenges what she calls "the teleology of ed tech"--the idea that not only is computerized education inevitable, but technological progress is the sole driver of events.
Blended/Hybrid & HyFlex Learning Guides