From gamification and quizzes to podcasts and social media videos – while not forgetting the traditional lecture – the sheer number of ways to deliver knowledge to students these days can feel overwhelming. But with research showing that people learn best when they are actively involved and student engagement rocketing up university agendas, there is little doubt that new methods of instruction are both crucial and here to stay. This collection offers suggestions on how to spark students' curiosity in your classroom while ensuring that you do not cross the line from teacher to the entertainer.
Best Practices in Engaging Online Learners Through Active and Experiential Learning Strategies by
Best Practices in Engaging Online Learners Through Active and Experiential Learning Strategies, Second Edition, is a practical guide for all instructors, instructional designers, and online learning administrators designing, developing, teaching, and leading online, hybrid and blended learning courses and programs, who seek to provide supportive, engaging, and interactive learner experiences. This book explores the integration of active and experiential learning approaches and activities including simulations, gamification, social media integration, project-based learning, scenario-based learning, virtual tours, and online micro-credentialing as they relate to the development of authentic skill-building, communication, problem-solving, and critical-thinking in learners. New and emerging learning technologies of virtual and augmented reality along with artificial intelligence are included in this updated edition with examples of how instructors can actively use them in online courses to engage learners in experiential experiences. Readers will find guidelines for the development of participatory and peer-learning, competency-based learning, field-based experiences, clinical experiences, and service-learning opportunities in the online classroom. In addition, the authors provide effective learning strategies, discipline-specific examples, templates, and additional resources that align learner engagement with assessment practices and course outcomes.
A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
Focused on developing professional academic skills for supporting and supervising student learning and effective teaching, the fifth edition of A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education recognises the complex demands of teaching, research, scholarship and academic management in higher education institutions. Fully updated to reflect changes in practice and policy, this new edition has been written to enhance excellence in teaching and learning design and support all involved in facilitating a world-class inclusive education. Offering plentiful and rich practical advice, this rigorous and sound introduction to the basics of teaching and learning in higher education draws together a large number of expert authors and a range of global case studies. A definitive guide for anyone working in higher education, this edition: Offers new chapters covering an inclusive curriculum, the importance of student well-being and the scholarship of teaching and learning Considers the impact of technological changes on policy and practice Discusses the use of digital learning environments Explores how best to engage students in their disciplines and embed skills for employability The ultimate guide to support all those involved in providing student learning of the highest quality, A Handbook for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education is essential reading for all new lecturers. It will be particularly useful for anyone taking an accredited course in teaching and learning in higher education, as well as more experienced lecturers who wish to improve their teaching practice.
Learning Analytics in the Classroom by
From Data and Analytics to the Classroom presents a coherent framework for useful translation of learning analytics research for educational practice with world-leading researchers in the use of data and analytics in education applying this framework to a number of different educational domains. The aim is to provide concrete ways to apply data and analytics to everyday educational practice. Thi book serves not only as a practical tool, but also as an instructional guide for educators. Through discussion and illustration it provides educators and researchers alike with the proper tools and frameworks to effectively make sense of and use data and analytics in their everyday practice.
The Lecturer's Toolkit by
The fifth edition of The Lecturer's Toolkit addresses the needs and aspirations of all lecturers teaching in tertiary education. With a focus on practical, implementable strategies to enhance learning experiences and ensure best practice, it covers all of the need-to-know information crucial to teaching success. Pinpointing aspects of teaching excellence, the challenges and stresses of teaching and adapted to cover digital and online learning as well as face-to-face contexts, this new edition covers: designing and using learning outcomes face-to-face, online and peer dialogues using web extracts, video-clips, phones, tablets and social media in large group teaching how online learning relates to the larger contexts of lectures and MOOCs cheating, plagiarism, essay mills and online assessment how particular aspects fit into the bigger picture of a module/course/degree/life ensuring you're looking after yourself Based on four decades of experience of higher education, The Lecturer's Toolkit is written with authority and clarity in a jargon-free style. This invaluable guide is a must-read for every higher education professional.
Small Teaching by
A freshly updated edition featuring research-based teaching techniques that faculty in any discipline can easily implement Research into how we learn can help facilitate better student learning--if we know how to apply it. Small Teaching fills the gap in higher education literature between the primary research in cognitive theory and the classroom environment. In this book, James Lang presents a strategy for improving student learning with a series of small but powerful changes that make a big difference―many of which can be put into practice in a single class period. These are simple interventions that can be integrated into pre-existing techniques, along with clear descriptions of how to do so. Inside, you'll find brief classroom or online learning activities, one-time interventions, and small modifications in course design or student communication. These small tweaks will bring your classroom into alignment with the latest evidence in cognitive research. Each chapter introduces a basic concept in cognitive research that has implications for classroom teaching, explains the rationale for offering it within a specific time period in a typical class, and then provides concrete examples of how this intervention has been used or could be used by faculty in a variety of disciplines. The second edition features revised and updated content including a newly authored preface, new examples and techniques, updated research, and updated resources. How can you make small tweaks to your teaching to bring the latest cognitive science into the classroom? How can you help students become good at retrieving knowledge from memory? How does making predictions now help us learn in the future? How can you build community in the classroom? Higher education faculty and administrators, as well as K-12 teachers and teacher trainers, will love the easy-to-implement, evidence-based techniques in Small Teaching.
Small Teaching Online by
Find out how to apply learning science in online classes The concept of small teaching is simple: small and strategic changes have enormous power to improve student learning. Instructors face unique and specific challenges when teaching an online course. This book offers small teaching strategies that will positively impact the online classroom. This book outlines practical and feasible applications of theoretical principles to help your online students learn. It includes current best practices around educational technologies, strategies to build community and collaboration, and minor changes you can make in your online teaching practice, small but impactful adjustments that result in significant learning gains. Explains how you can support your online students Helps your students find success in this non-traditional learning environment Covers online and blended learning Addresses specific challenges that online instructors face in higher education Small Teaching Online presents research-based teaching techniques from an online instructional design expert and the bestselling author of Small Teaching.
Student Mental Health and Wellbeing in Higher Education by
Good mental health is essential for students to manage the challenges that university life presents. This book offers pragmatic guidance to support academic and student services staff in engaging with this critical issue, both in terms of being proactive within their role to promote a positive approach to wellbeing, and understanding how to care appropriately for students who may not be flourishing in the university environment. Key topics include: · The pressure points and transitions of student life · The crucial role of departmental and academic staff · How to make mental health policies work · The legal obligations and limits of student support · Creating the conditions for confident support
The Flourishing Student by
The REAL University Challenge: Helping students to thrive.As a tutor you want to help students to flourish not only academically but in all aspects of their university lives: mentally, emotionally, physically, socially and spiritually. But with students reporting stress and anxiety at an all-time high, and academic staff under more pressure than ever before, you could use some help. In this new, post-pandemic edition of the classic guide, Fabienne Vailes reveals how you can help your students develop a 'tool box' of techniques to support good mental health that will support them through university and beyond, and ensure your own wellbeing at the same time. She finishes with thoughts on how universities can implement simple changes that support resilience at an institutional, not just an individual level.
Articles and videos published on THE Student are created by international students, international alumni, university agents or university professionals working directly with international students and aim to provide clear, tangible advice about all aspects of the study abroad experience.
Moodle 4 E-Learning Course Development by
This updated edition addresses the opportunities that come with a major update in Moodle 4.0. You'll learn how to determine the best way to use the Moodle platform's new features and configure your courses to align with your overall goals, vision, and even accreditation review needs. You'll discover how to plan an effective course with the best mix of resources and engaging assessments that really show what the learner has accomplished, and also keep them engaged and interested. This book will show you how to ensure that your students enjoy their collaborations and truly learn from each other. You'll get a handle on generating reports and monitoring exactly how the courses are going and what to do to get them back on track. While doing this, you can use Moodle 4.0's new navigation features to help keep students from getting "lost." Finally, you'll be able to incorporate functionality boosters and accommodate the changing needs and goals of our evolving world.
Moodle Course Design Best Practices by
Fast-paced guide for designing effective Moodle courses; experiment with Moodle's features for free using MoodleCloud Key Features Apply principles of instructional design to create great Moodle learning experiences Enhance collaboration and spur creativity with Moodle Bring together instructional materials, social interaction, and student management functions in your courses Book Description Moodle is a leading virtual learning environment for your online course. This book incorporates the principles of instructional design, showing you how to apply them to your Moodle courses. With this guidance, you will develop and deploy better courses, content, and assessments than ever. This book will guide you as you learn how to build and incorporate many different types of course materials and dynamic activities. You will learn how to improve the structure and presentation of resources, activities, and assessments. All this will help you to create better for self-led courses, instructor-led courses, and courses for collaborative groups. The use of multimedia features to enhance your Moodle courses is also explained in this book. Our goal is to encourage creativity, and the free MoodleCloud hosting option is an ideal place for teachers, students, trainers, and administrators to jump in and play with all the new features, which include powerful new plug-ins, new resources, and activities. Moodle can be your sandbox as well as your castle of learning! With this book, you will build learning experiences that will last your learners' lifetimes. What you will learn Build a course structure that fits your goals Design a unique appearance Manage the resources and activities Tips for better organization of your course content Select and set up assessments Include effective instructional strategies Incorporate competency frameworks Run and archive webinars Motivate learners by incorporating badges Explore MoodleCloud Who this book is for If you create courses with Moodle, this book is for you. It can be used by teachers, instructors, training managers, Moodle administrators, instructional technologists, instructional designers, and e-learning entrepreneurs. Prior experience with Moodle will be helpful.
